Wheel bearing kit incompatibilities?

Transmission, differential, drive shafts, axles, etc...

Moderators: dr.occa, CBR_TOY

demby123
Tourist

Wheel bearing kit incompatibilities?

Post by demby123 »

I've been replacing lots of components on my 86' SR5 in order to restore a bit of its original feel. After pulling the rear axle out to swap out the bearings with the kit from Z1 performance, I've run into a bit of a stump... I'm not sure exactly what is what, I believe these massive things are for the GTS as nothing similar came out on my axle when I pulled it, if so, the kit was supposed to come with a "retainer" which is the name for two different things according to the FSM. Also, it came with seals that were different from the ones I pulled from the axle housing, I'm assuming these are for the GTS as well. Now I've done wheel bearings on cars before, but i'm pretty new to live axle work in general, so I have a few questions.

Is the "retainer" simply the plate that holds the axle in at the hub? where is this other retainer?Should there be another piece to the set? I think its what's under the bearing itself but I'm not sure...

Since the wheel seal that came out is the exact size of the front wheel seal, could I order front wheel seals and use them in the rear axle? After ordering one wheel seal from orielly's (f-bombed it up thinking it was to be fitted similar to my jetta, which wraps around the edge, this was driven in), it seems to call for the larger seals below, although that could've been due to the wrong sizing by me (didn't know the exact size as i hadn't pulled the axles at this point).

This was an SR5 kit, but I think the GTS bearing was packaged in as well for some odd reason, along with GTS wheel seals.

Wheel seals. Left is the old seal pulled from the axle, Right is a new seal from oreilly's
New wheel bearings from the kit, Right matches the current bearing, Left is probably a GTS bearing.

And finally here's my axle.

demby123
Tourist