Low Power suspension set up

Shocks, springs, coil overs, ride height, bracing, cages, etc...

Moderators: dr.occa, CBR_TOY

ChadDavis
Tourist

Low Power suspension set up

Post by ChadDavis »

I know i've been told before how important a suspension set up is in a drift car, though i'll only be running 113-120 hp give or take, my average check is 800-1 grand a week, I want to start throwing money into my AE71 but my sense of quality over quantity is battling itself. More suspension stuff at the sacrifice of decent to okay quality or fewer suspension stuff for the best quality, mind you i'm just starting out but in a serious manner. I know i sound like a lost adolescent teenager but this is a huge commitment and I want it done right the first time!

JDM AE86

Re: Low Power suspension set up

Post by JDM AE86 »

Id say start with a good set of sway bars. Theresome what cheaper then the other parts and you will fill the differance. Combine that with poly bushings everywhere and it will be good. Then after a few checks look into some good coil overs for the front and rear. Also I know it isnt suspention but get some good brake and clutch lines also. To sum it up for me get good stuff alittle at a time.
http://facebook.com/86levin

ChadDavis
Tourist

Post by ChadDavis »

Tank you sir

ChadDavis
Tourist

Post by ChadDavis »

Also With inner/outer tie rods since ill be running 86 strut/springs set up and knuckles, do i search for the 86 chassis outer tie rods or the ae71??

Manifesto

Post by Manifesto »

Suspension setups are a complicated affair. There is a lot more to this than merely saying "ima get some winz coilovers" and calling it a day. Especially in drift, where you'll be beating the shit out if your car. First and foremost, you need to ask yourself the POU. then asses from the ground up whatyoull be needing...