cutting costs of everything thread

Anything not related to the AE86 and cars in general (but let's keep it respectful and courteous everyone).

Moderators: dr.occa, CBR_TOY

86boy

cutting costs of everything thread

Post by 86boy »

I wanted to see what other people do to "save a buck" throughout their everyday lives. As I have quickly learned here in Texas... "Everything is bigger in Texas" and so is the cost of everything. I will be moving into a home which is well bigger than what I need, but with the limited selections of places (at least here) in north Dallas currently didn't have a choice. I was looking for something with at least a 1 car garage, and possibly a 2 car if possible. I found a 3 bedroom, 2 bath, and 2 car garage house which awesome except it costs 1100/month. the past couple of months I have been trying to find ways to cut alternative costs to be able to afford such adventure for this next chapter in my life.

I studied different routes to work. Currently I live 23 miles from work taking a tollway. So taking the advice of a couple people started taking an alternative route to avoid toll costs. Then went a little crazy with it. Initially it was taking me an hour to hour and a half to get back to the house I'm crashing at with about $5 in tolls total per day (25 per week). cut that down to about $1.50 per day (somedays depending on which way I go) on average. I also discovered my fuel bill was through the roof as most of the time I would spend 10-15 minutes sitting in traffic to make it through 1 or 2 stop lights. I went a little crazy and started studying the flow of traffic, and the most cost effective ways to get from point A to point B for work.