I'm a noob and I want to drift... so click this.

General Technical Topics

Moderators: dr.occa, CBR_TOY

Reason for not going to event.

I'm a poser
No votes
I don't have a daily driver
No votes
I don't have a drift car
No votes
I am afraid of going into "Overdrift"
100%

Total votes: 3

Overdrift

I'm a noob and I want to drift... so click this.

Post by Overdrift »

I had to make another thread...

I want everyone to know this and read it if you have never gone to a competion before.

GO TO A COMPETION!

DRIFT!

LEARN!

Don't listen to people that say "Oh you need this and that to drift!".

Like a few of you I had alot of fun doing figure 8's , donuts, linking corners....but then I went to my first drift event. It was amazing... no fear of curbs...no fear of police.. no fear of breaking down. I went all out, and while the tires lasted... I had the best automotive experience of my life.

If you want to drift, get 100 bucks and go to a Daily Drifter event. Bring a spare set of tires and talk to fellow drifters. ALOT of people will help you if you just ask, stick to corolla folk though, they enjoy seeing fellow underdogs , aka 240 turbo kryptonite at work.

I can see the excuses....

"I don't have a drivers license" - dont need on on a race course.

"Its cold outside" - better for your car and not so freakin hot like most drift events... you'll find out soon enough.

"its a long drive" - find a better excuse, driving is fun!

"100 bucks is alot of money!" - go rake some leaves.. it pays fair.

"I cant find any tires for cheap" lmk what size, ill look around my area and my supply bin, you look around your local tire dump sites and discount/ntb/firestone's.

"A race helment is expensive"- go to a pawnshop, 40 bucks average price, buy some frebreez also for $3.

"i dont have a way to get my car there" - theres always a way. A relative, a friend. Make alot of friends at drift events... they come in handy.

"I'm a little girl" - sorry hvguy no cure yet.

CBR_TOY